Rest Assured, Our February 21 Webinar Provides Clarity
Think it’s OK in California if a nonexempt employee occasionally misses a meal break or takes a late lunch? What about letting that employee combine the two required 10-minute rest breaks?
Misunderstandings about California’s meal and rest break rules—including requiring employees to stay onsite—expose employers to expensive litigation. Vague meal and rest break policies left open for interpretation by employees increase that risk of liability.
“It’s important to remember that meal breaks have nothing to do with eating lunch. They’re all about providing employees 30 minutes of off-the-clock, duty-free time within 4 hours and 59 minutes from the start of their shift,” says Erika Frank, CalChamber executive vice president, legal affairs.
Attend our live, 90-minute webinar in February to learn what you can do to avoid violations, down to the smallest detail. The timely topics our employment law experts will cover include:
- Overview of California’s meal and rest break rules
- Discussion of Augustus decision and its impact on rest breaks
- Late lunches and other examples of violations
- Premium pay for meal and/or rest break violations
- Litigation trends since seminal Brinker decision
- New laws creating industry exceptions, including Proposition 11
- Importance of specific workplace policies
- How to handle employees who don’t follow your break policies
- Best practices to avoid compliance trouble
Live Webinar: Give Meal and Rest Break Violations a Rest
Date: Thursday, February 21, 2019
Time: 10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PT
Price: $199.00 ($159.20 for CalChamber Preferred and Executive members)
Register online or call (800) 331-8877.
This webinar is approved for 1.5 HRCI recertification, SHRM professional development and MCLE credits. Your webinar purchase includes a recorded version that’s available after the live event.