Posts Tagged ‘minimum wage’

Another Bay Area City Approves Local Minimum Wage Ordinance

If you thought the recent local minimum wage ordinance (MWO) trend was starting to slow down, think again. On July 15, 2019, the Petaluma City Council unanimously voted to adopt an MWO accelerating the minimum wage rates currently set forth in California’s minimum wage schedule. Starting January 1, 2020, large businesses with 26 or more […]

30 Jul 19 - Local Ordinances - Bianca Saad - No CommentsRead More »

Emeryville Suspends Small, Independent Restaurants Minimum Wage Amendment

As previously reported, a referendum petition on the minimum wage ordinance (MWO) amendment for small, independent restaurants was submitted to the Emeryville City Clerk. Once the Emeryville City Clerk submitted the referendum petition to the Alameda County Registrar of Voters (ROV), the ROV checks and certifies the validity of the signatures. The minimum number of […]

11 Jul 19 - Local Ordinances - Bianca Saad - No CommentsRead More »

Alameda Joins Minimum Wage Ordinance ‘Party’ in July

Another California city, Alameda, adopted a new minimum wage ordinance (MWO) that takes effect in July. Last October, when then-governor Jerry Brown signed a number of bills into new laws, the Alameda City Council passed their own MWO, which will raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour by July 1, 2020. Beginning July 1, 2019, […]

25 Feb 19 - Local Ordinances - HRWatchdog - No CommentsRead More »

Fremont City Council Adopts New Minimum Wage Ordinance

The City of Fremont is the latest city to adopt a local minimum wage ordinance. On January 15, 2019, the Fremont City Council voted unanimously to increase the minimum wage to $15 by 2020 for large employers and by 2021 for smaller employers. The Fremont Minimum Wage Ordinance (MWO) will apply to all employers that […]

23 Jan 19 - Local Ordinances - Bianca Saad - No CommentsRead More »

Local Minimum Wage Ordinances May Impact Split Shift Premium Requirements

A recent update on the California Labor Commissioner’s website signals a change in interpretation about how employees must be paid when they work a split shift. The updated information states that the split shift premium owed is one hour at the state minimum wage, or the local minimum wage if there is one, whichever is […]

5 Oct 18 - Local Ordinances, Minimum Wage - Ellen Savage, J.D. - No CommentsRead More »