Archive for the ‘Compensation’ Category

California employers don’t need to have prior knowledge of wage and hour violations to be held liable for a subcontractor’s wage theft.

Contracting for Labor? Employers Cited for Subcontractor’s $1.6 Million in Wage Theft

The Labor Commissioner recently fined two California grocers and their subcontractor more than $1.6 million in wage theft violations. The subcontractor was cited for violations affecting 64 workers, and through AB 1897, the client-employer liability law, the two grocers were also cited and required each to pay $825,813. All three employers have appealed the citations. […]

22 Nov 19 - Compensation, Overtime - Vannessa Maravilla - No CommentsRead More »

Examine Wage Practices: U.S. DOL Recovers Record Amount of Back Wages

In fiscal year (FY) 2019, the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) recovered a record $322 million in wages for workers, up from $304 million in FY 2018. The DOL also held more than 3,700 educational outreach events to help employers understand their responsibilities under the law. Employers should examine their wage-and-hour practices to make sure […]

13 Nov 19 - Compensation - Katie Culliton - No CommentsRead More »

New 2020 Exempt Classification Rates

California’s Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) announced rate changes for the computer software employee exemption and the licensed physician and surgeon exemption. The new rates take effect January 1, 2020. For the computer software employees’ exemption: The minimum hourly rate of pay exemption increased to $46.55 from its previous rate of $45.41; The minimum monthly salary increased […]

5 Nov 19 - Compensation - Katie Culliton - No CommentsRead More »

Daylight saving time ends on Sunday, November 3.

Don’t forget to ‘Fall Back’ on Sunday!

Although summer was officially over in September, our longer evenings come to an end this Sunday, November 3, when Daylight Saving Time (DST) concludes. While many people savor the additional hour of sleep, some negatives accompany that extra shut eye — which have been the subject of many news stories for at least 20 years. Plus, […]

1 Nov 19 - Compensation, Overtime - Jessica Mulholland - No CommentsRead More »

Canceling a Shift and Reporting Time Pay

How much notice must I give my employees that I’m canceling a shift in order to avoid paying reporting time? Anytime an employee reports to work but is given less than half of the employee’s regular shift, the employer owes that employee reporting time pay. The reporting time payment is equal to half of the […]

24 Oct 19 - Compensation - HRWatchdog - No CommentsRead More »