Wage & Hour Essentials for Nonexempt Employees Webinar

Wage & Hour Essentials for Nonexempt Employees Webinar

Editor’s note: This blog was updated at 5:01 p.m. on June 5, 2024, to reflect changes in date to both the nonexempt employees webinar (from Thursday, June 13, 2024, to Thursday, July 25, 2024) and the exempt employees webinar (from Thursday June 20, 2024, to Friday, July 26, 2024).

Running a business in California requires employers to comply with multiple legal obligations — especially around wage and hour issues. For nonexempt or “hourly” employees, employers must be aware of not only all the requirements that apply — how and when employees are paid plus overtime and break laws, to name a few — but also understand how they apply to their employees. CalChamber’s Wage & Hour Essentials: Laws for Nonexempt Employees webinar can help you understand these challenging wage and hour requirements.

For instance, hourly employees must be paid for all hours worked, including overtime — but to properly do so, employers must know which minimum wage applies to their employees, and that rate may vary depending on where an employee is working within the state. Employers must also pay overtime at an employee’s “regular rate of pay,” which isn’t necessarily the same as their hourly rate.

Employers seeking more knowledge and understanding about key wage and hour issues relating to nonexempt/hourly employees in California can join our employment law experts on Thursday, July 25, 2024, for a detailed webinar that covers:

  • Minimum wage and overtime requirements.
  • Meal and rest period practices.
  • Form and timing for paying employees.
  • Recordkeeping best practices.
  • Illustrative scenarios and key takeaways.

Have exempt employees too? Properly classifying employees as exempt in California can be challenging — and the consequences of getting it wrong can be significant. Don’t forget to sign up for our Wage & Hour Essentials: Exempt Employee Requirements webinar on July 26.

[90-Minute Live Webinar] Wage & Hour Essentials: Laws for Nonexempt Employees

Date: Thursday, July 25, 2024

Time: 10 a.m. to 11:30 p.m.

Price: $269 ($215.20 for CalChamber Preferred Members or above)

This webinar ideal for HR professionals, legal/employment law counsel, office managers, business owners, and anyone with responsibility for managing and paying nonexempt and/or exempt employees in California.

Downloadable webinar slides and a recording will be made available to webinar attendees. This webinar is solely for informational purposes; it doesn’t serve as or replace legal advice.

In addition, this webinar is approved for 1.5 California recertification credits toward aPHR™, aPHRi™, PHR®, PHRca®, SPHR®, GPHR®, PHRi™ and SPHRi™ recertification through the HR Certification Institute (HRCI); 1.5 Professional Development Credits (PDCs) for the SHRM-CP® or SHRM-SCP® recertification activities; and 1.5 MCLE credits.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *