Archive for the ‘Minimum Wage’ Category

UPDATED: San Diego Paid Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance Effective July 11, 2016

Voters approved San Diego’s Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance on June 7, 2016, but the effective date was delayed until the election results were certified. The certification is now completed, and the ordinance took effect on July 11, 2016. Under the ordinance: Employees working within the geographic boundaries of the City of San […]

13 Jul 16 - Minimum Wage, Time Off - Gail Cecchettini Whaley - No CommentsRead More »

Some Local Minimum Wage Increases to Take Effect July 1

Although the next increase in the California minimum wage is still six months away, a number of local minimum wage hikes took effect on July 1, 2016.

Employers need to prepare for the minimum wage increase and examine other pay practices that might be affected by the increase. […]

 

5 Jul 16 - Minimum Wage - HRWatchdog - No CommentsRead More »

Employees in San Francisco? Minimum Wage Increases to $13 Per Hour on July 1

As one of the scheduled increases from Proposition J, San Francisco’s $13 per hour minimum wage becomes effective July 1, 2016. On that Friday, San Francisco employers must replace their existing required posting with the new minimum wage notice reflecting the $13 rate. CalChamber’s updated San Francisco Labor Laws poster contains the most current San […]

22 Jun 16 - Minimum Wage, Posters and Notices - HRWatchdog - No CommentsRead More »

San Diego and Los Angeles Boost Minimum Wage and Paid Sick Time

Yesterday, San Diego voters approved the Earned Sick Leave Minimum Wage Ordinance that the city passed in 2014. Even though the ordinance passed two years ago, opponents were able to get the proposal on the June ballot for a vote. KPBS reported that the proposal, Proposition I, passed with more than 60 percent of the […]

8 Jun 16 - Minimum Wage, Time Off - Gail Cecchettini Whaley - No CommentsRead More »

California Minimum Wage Hike Brings Many Changes

In early April, Governor Brown signed SB 3, a bill that will increase the minimum wage in California to $15 per hour by 2022. The governor’s action makes California the first state in the nation to commit to raising the minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide. Large businesses with 26 or more employees will […]

7 Jun 16 - Minimum Wage - HRWatchdog - No CommentsRead More »