Meal and rest breaks are among the trickiest aspects of managing a workforce in California. Misunderstandings can be costly — for instance, each workday that an employer fails to provide a meal break to an employee as required, the employee is owed one additional hour of pay at their regular rate of pay. And, in California, laws governing meal and rest breaks continue to evolve — mostly not in favor of employers.
Employers might be familiar with the basics, like meal breaks must begin, at the latest, 4 hours and 59 minutes into a nonexempt employee’s shift and last a minimum of 30 minutes, and employees must be off-the-clock. But employers need to know so much more. Even seasoned human resource managers and well-run businesses can make inadvertent mistakes around providing meal and rest breaks to employees — which can be costly.
Register now for our May 18, 2023, webinar, where CalChamber’s employment law experts will cover meal and rest break compliance in detail, including steps to protect your company from liability. Issues covered will include, but not limited to:
- Timing of meal and rest breaks;
- Premium pay for violations; and
- Best practices.
This webinar is created for HR professionals, office managers, business owners or anyone responsible for hiring and staffing. Participants can submit questions during the webinar, and participants will receive downloadable webinar slides and a recording of the live event.
[90-Minute Live Webinar] Avoiding Meal and Rest Break Traps
Date: Thursday, May 18, 2023
Time: 10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PT
Cost: $249 ($199 for CalChamber Preferred and Enterprise members)
Register online or call (800) 331-8877. This course is approved for 1.5 California recertification credits toward PHR, SPHR, GPHR, APHR and PHR/CA through the HR Certification Institute (HRCI). The course is also approved for 1.5 MCLE credit hours and 1.5 Professional Development Credits (PDCs) for the SHRM-CP or SHRM-SCP.