May Webinar Prepares Employers for Time Off for Baby
California provides strong protections for employees who are pregnant and/or new parents. Given the number of laws involved, managing pregnancy and baby bonding leave is not an easy task.
Under California’s Pregnancy Disability Leave (PDL), employers with five or more employees must allow an employee to take up to four months of job-protected leave when the employee is disabled by pregnancy.
On the books for 2018, California’s New Parent Leave Act (NPLA) requires that smaller employers provide new parents with up to 12 workweeks of unpaid job-protected leave to bond with a new child.
Under the federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the similar California Family Rights Act (CFRA), job-protected parental leave is not new for workers at companies with 50 or more employees.
“Even if you are a covered employer under FMLA/CFRA, there may be times when you have an employee who is not eligible for FMLA/CFRA, but is eligible for Parental Leave,” notes Erika Pickles, webinar co-presenter and CalChamber employment law counsel.
Join our employment law experts online for specifics on leave eligibility and employer obligations:
- Pregnancy Disability Leave (five or more employees)
- California Parental Leave (20-49 employees)
- FMLA/CFRA leave for baby bonding (50 or more employees)
- Continuation of health benefits and return to work rights
- Notice and policy requirements
- Best practices
Live Webinar: Bundle of Labor Laws: PDL, California’s New Parental Leave and Baby Bonding Under FMLA and CFRA
Date: Thursday, May 17, 2018
Time: 10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PT
Cost: $199.00 ($159.20 for CalChamber Preferred and Executive members)
Register online or call Customer Service at (800) 331-8877.
This webinar is optimized for viewing on mobile devices, and it is approved for 1.5 HRCI recertification, SHRM professional development and MCLE credit hours. Your webinar purchase includes a recorded version that’s available after the live event.