September Webinar on Avoiding Meal and Rest Break Violations
California sets its own strict rules when it comes to meal and rest breaks. But it’s up to employers to inform employees that they’re entitled to both a meal break and paid rest breaks. Timing is everything because California employers must let employees take their meal break at the proper time.
“It is important for employers to remember that meal breaks have nothing to do with eating lunch. They are about providing employees 30 minutes of off-the-clock, duty-free time within 4 hours and 59 minutes from the start of their shift,” says Erika Frank, webinar co-presenter and CalChamber executive vice president, legal affairs. “Misunderstandings about California’s meal and rest break rules may expose employers to liability.”
Take a break from your busy workday and learn what you can do to prevent violations and stay in compliance with the law. CalChamber’s California employment law experts will delve into specifics, including:
- Employer obligations for meal and rest breaks;
- No on-call rest breaks (December 2016 ruling);
- Premium pay for meal and/or rest break violations;
- Timekeeping and recordkeeping guidelines; and
- Best practices to avoid compliance trouble.
Live Webinar: The Rest Is Up to You: Meal and Rest Break Rules
Date: Thursday, September 21, 2017
Time: 10 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. PT
Cost: $199.00 ($159.20 for CalChamber Preferred and Executive members)
Register online or call Customer Service at (800) 331-8877.
This webinar is optimized for viewing on mobile devices, and it is approved for 1.5 HRCI recertification, SHRM professional development and MCLE credit hours. Your webinar purchase includes a recorded version that’s available after the live event.