Throughout California, local cities and counties are passing ordinances relating to minimum wage, paid sick leave, criminal background checks, employee scheduling and more. Minimum Wage Increases Although the state minimum wage doesn’t increase until 2018, a number of local minimum wage hikes will take effect on July 1, 2017. The following cities and county will […]
It’s an extraordinary trend that shows no signs of slowing down. From the Bay Area to San Diego, California cities and counties are enacting local ordinances relating to minimum wage, paid sick leave, criminal background checks and more. Are you in compliance? “Local and statewide rules can vary significantly, and even between California municipalities,“ says […]
The next increase to the California minimum wage takes effect on January 1, 2017, for employers with 26 or more employees. For these employers, the minimum wage rate increases to $10.50 an hour. Employers with 25 or fewer employees will continue to pay $10 an hour. A number of local minimum wage hikes will also […]
Employers in six California cities must consider paid sick leave requirements established by local ordinances in addition to the state paid sick leave law that marked its one-year anniversary on July 1. All six cities also have their own minimum wage ordinance. When state and local paid sick leave laws conflict, employers should follow the […]
Although the next increase in the California minimum wage is still six months away, a number of local minimum wage hikes took effect on July 1, 2016.
Employers need to prepare for the minimum wage increase and examine other pay practices that might be affected by the increase. […]