State and Local Minimum Wage Increases Take Effect January 1

Dec 30 2016 - Minimum Wage - Gail Cecchettini Whaley

state and local minimum wage

Employers should check for local minimum wage requirements.

The next increase to the California minimum wage takes effect on January 1, 2017, for employers with 26 or more employees. For these employers, the minimum wage rate increases to $10.50 an hour. Employers with 25 or fewer employees will continue to pay $10 an hour. A number of local minimum wage hikes will also take effect on January 1, 2017.

Employers need to prepare for the minimum wage increase and examine other pay practices that might be affected by the increases.

Local Ordinances

A number of other cities already have minimum wages that differ from the state minimum wage.

Following is a list of the cities that enacted a new minimum wage ordinance or increased the required minimum wage on January 1 (eligibility rules may vary from city to city):

  • Cupertino $12.00/hour
  • El Cerrito: $12.25/hour
  • Los Altos: $12/hour
  • Mountain View: $13/hour
  • Oakland: $12.86/hour
  • Palo Alto: $12.00/hour
  • Richmond: $12.30/hour
  • San Diego: $11.50/hour
  • San Jose: $10.50/hour
  • San Mateo: $12.00/hour
  • Santa Clara: $11.10/hour
  • Sunnyvale: $13/hour

CalChamber Resources

The California Chamber of Commerce provides resources to help employers comply with the minimum wage increase:

Gail Cecchettini Whaley, CalChamber Employment Law Counsel/Content

Not a member? Learn more about what HRCalifornia can do for you.

Tags :

Leave a Comment